Saying Good-bye to Korea

“You get a strange feeling when you’re about to leave a place, like you’ll not only miss the people you love but you’ll miss the person you are now at this time and place because you’ll never be this way ever again.”- Anonymous

 

Dear Korea,

We have spent two years together and in two days time I will be leaving you to start the next chapter of my life.  Right now I am feeling a roller coaster of emotions. I’m sad to leave you because of all the memories I have created with you.  I will miss the independence I’ve had here, the people I’ve met, the spontaneous encounters, and even the frustrating cultural clashes that have made for interesting stories later on.  But I think more than anything, at this very moment, I am bursting with excitement and anticipation for what’s next.  I’m so glad I was able to have this experience and it’s something no one can ever take away from me.  I will keep my memories of you with me forever and I will use them to help me as I move on through life.  I’ve gained cultural knowledge, patience, independence, and confidence that I can get through any situation. After my time with you I have changed into a better person.  I know I will never be able to be this person again, but I will move on and use these experiences to be a better person somewhere else.  As I look around my emptied apartment I feel sad to think I will never live here again, but it makes me happy to know that one day I did live in Seoul, South Korea, and it will be a great story to tell my grandchildren.  Until next time….

Yours truly,

Jenny

6 responses

  1. Jen, thanks so much for writing about S.Korea! I certainly learned many new things. Your stories are interesting with a delightful touch. Your sense of humor shows through and your photography is wonderful. Leaving a place is very difficult. You now have a knowledge that very few people have. That is a wonderful treasure.

  2. Jenny,
    Leaving somewhere is never easy after the 2 year experience you have shared with friends, teachers, and students. That is why the saying “some people leave footprints on your heart that you take with you for the rest of your life” ….. and now the journey home begins with one single step , starting a new adventure and more stories to add to your life time of experiences ….
    with Huggs, Love and laughter
    Mom
    love the letter …. best ending ……to a new beginning

  3. Jenny – Thank you for sharing the absolutely wonderful adventures you experienced these past two years … I was able to live vicariously through you. I wish you the best in the next phase of your life. Take care and may you have a safe, smooth trip home.
    Heidi

  4. Jen- It has been wonderful seeing and learning about Korea through your eyes. You have such a gift of writing. What an adventure it has been! You will carry these memories with you forever. Have a safe trip home.
    Kim Pelczar

  5. Jenny- Thanks for sharing all of your wonderful adventures and pictures. I’ve enjoyed learning many things about South Korea in your blog and seeing so many of the places you visited. Good luck in the next chapter of your life.

Leave a Reply

