Season’s Greetings from Seoul

This morning I woke up and looked out my window to see a fresh layer of snow covering the streets and rooftops below me. Besides some small flurries, today was the first time it has snowed in Seoul this year.

Snowy Morning View from my Apt.

Typical Morning Sunrise View from my Apt.

 

Walking to School

My School

 

View from my English room

The snow came just in time to put me in the Christmas spirit.  Being away from family is hard during this time of year, but my good friends here make it that much easier to get through the holidays.  This past weekend was full of Christmas events.  On Saturday I saw my friend Meghan sing in a choir performing “Handel’s Messiah.”  It was a group mixed of foreigners and Koreans who have been practicing for many months.  It was the first time I had seen this concert.  The singing was excellent but it was almost three hours long.  It was worth it to see my friend performing though.  On Sunday I went to see The Korea National Ballet’s “The Nutcracker,” which was just as good as last year although my seats weren’t as good.  You can click on this link to see my post from last year on this version of the ballet:

https://jennylee8786.wordpress.com/2010/12/24/its-not-christmas-without-the-nutcracker/

 

To celebrate Christmas this coming weekend I have plans to attend some Christmas potluck house parties and Secret Santa parties.  Hope to Skype with my family as usual.  Weird to think of  Skyping with the family during the holidays, but it almost feels normal now.  I’ll be missing Christmas cookies and other treats, but being at home during Christmas will be something I will appreciate much more after my experience here.  I would like to wish everyone a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year from Seoul!

3 responses

  1. Hi Jenny

    Wow, never thought that would happen for Christmas. What a nice
    treat for a CT girl. You have a great day with your friends.
    And a wonderful new year. Love Joan and all.

Leave a Reply

