Thanksgiving Day Korean Style

It’s hard to believe that it’s my 2nd Thanksgiving in Seoul.  Where has the time gone?  It’s definitely not easy being far away from family and having to work during this holiday, but I made the best of it by bringing Thanksgiving to my school today.  Today I brought in a pumpkin pie from Costco to share with my school.  Their first reaction was “Wow, thank you!” and then after I explained it was for Thanksgiving, they asked, “Where’s the turkey?”  The one thing Koreans know about Thanksgiving is that turkey is involved.  There are no wild turkeys in Korea.  The only turkeys here can be seen at a zoo.  To Koreans, eating turkey is as exotic as it is for us to imagine eating live octopus.  I wish I could have brought in a turkey for my school, but it would have cost well over $100.

Pumpkin Pie (courtesy of Costco)

 

Principal and Vice Principal at lunch with a slice of Pumpkin Pie

I was sure to make Turkey Day come alive for my students and what better way to do that than by making “hand turkeys”!  I think every child in America knows how to make the infamous “hand turkey” and I couldn’t stop myself from passing on the tradition to my Korean students.  They had a lot of fun tracing the shape of their hands and making it into a colorful turkey.  I also had them write words of things they were thankful for.  The boys went a little overboard, as usual, and added some extra elements to the drawings as you will see below.  Some students could not comprehend that a turkey wasn’t a chicken. And others had some trouble understanding how their hand could turn into a turkey.  But, nonetheless, the students had fun learning about the history of Thanksgiving, looking at pictures of the delicious food, and making the fun turkey craft.  I will continue my Thanksgiving tonight by meeting my friends for a nice, authentic Thanksgiving meal.  I am counting down the hours.  Miss all my family back home.  I’m thankful to have family and friends all over the world that love and support me in everything that I do.

4th grade girls

 

 

The girls made pretty "Hand Turkeys"

 

While the boys decided to add another element....

 

 

And one took this activity much too literally...

3 responses

  1. Oh Jenny this reminds me of the days teaching Art and making everything fun and original !!
    So cute !! I will share this today with Grandma Meme she will enjoy this I am sure
    Hugs and Thanksgiving wishes to you from me,
    In Everything be Thankful, always
    love Mom

  2. HI JENNY

    ALL THE DRAWINGS WERE SO ADORABLE. MY GREAT NEPHEW IN FIRST GRADE
    BROUGHT ONE UP THE MY MOTHERS FOR THANKSGIVING AND HE WAS UP AT FOUR
    IN THE MORNING AND MADE ABOUT 12 OF THEM TO GIVE OUT. HE DID A GOOD
    JOB. MY MOTHER TURNED 99 YEAR OLD. SHE IS DOING AND LOOKING VERY
    GOOD. AT THE RESTAURANT WHERE JANET WORKS, IN CAME SUSAN AND JOE
    FROM UP AT THE GHB, AND SHE HAD TO LOOK TO BE SURE IT WAS THEM BE
    CAUSE SHE SAID THEY WERE DRESSED DIFFERENT FROM THE BEACH.
    WE HAD A GOOD DAY CELEBRATED THE BIRTHDAY AND ALL. THANKS AGAIN
    HOPE TO SEE YOU SOON. JOAN

  3. Jen, what a cute post, and I loved the turkey pics. I am sure it was a delightful learning experience for your students, and fun too. You didn’t tell us what you ate. I missed you at our table and your dad as well, very weird, I am not a big change person but we did have a very excellent dinner. Now, on to Christmas ……………..

    Aunt Diane

Leave a Reply

