Korean Education

I typically write posts based on the activities and adventures I get into on the weekends.  What I have neglected to post  is about my daily life as a native English teacher in a Korean school system, which could be considered just as adventurous and exciting as my life on the weekends.  There is a new documentary coming out on Korean education created by a nineteen year old American girl.  After visiting this website I became inspired to share it with anyone out there who bothers to read my blog.  I think it is worth it for anyone to watch it to get a better idea about a day in the life of a Korean student in terms of education and body image.  I bet you didn’t know that my Korean students go to school an average of 10 hours a day and study for an average of 6 more hours a day on top of the time they are in school.  I bet you didn’t know that education is the top industry in Korea followed by plastic surgery.  I bet you didn’t know that Korean students sleep an average of 4-5 hours a night.  I bet you didn’t know that Korea has the highest suicide rate in the world.  There is no way I could possibly explain the stress and competition that Korean students face everyday. I cannot even understand it myself.  You need to hear it for yourself from the Korean students.  I ask that you watch this 15 minute video clip of this documentary in the making.  It really moved me and helped me to understand things about my students better, for example, why they are falling asleep in my classes and why they are so competitive in nature.  I want to try to write more about my day-to-day life in the Korean public school system and the things I observe everyday that are part of this bigger picture.  Enjoy the film and you can even donate money to make it happen.  I don’t know the creator of this film but I think it is very perceptive and admirable that a girl so young could create a film with a concept like this. When I was 19 I didn’t know the first thing about Korea or it’s education system for that matter. So educate yourself:

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1877491487/documentary-on-korean-education

2 responses

  1. Hello Jenny

    Pretty smart kids over there. Well summer has finally arrived.
    In the 70 and 80’s all this week. Rain has finally stopped falling.
    Waiting for August 6-13 to come as is, Jan, Alicia, Sariah & Matthew
    Lay that blanket down and look up and be lazy.

    About ready to go to bed, really tired tonight. Talk to you soon.

  2. Jen, another excellent insight into South Korean students. I wonder if it is the same for the boys? do they study as much? Are the sexes segregated at all the schools? You must be exhausted,too. Mary Ann

Leave a Reply

