My First 만두 (Mandu)

Happy Chinese New Year of the Rabbit 2011! Today is officially the first day of the lunar new year celebrated all over Asia.  Next to Chuseok, it’s the biggest holiday celebrated here.  Basically everyone leaves Seoul and stays with their families in their hometowns.  Luckily my co-teacher invited me to bring in the new year with her and her friends by teaching me how to make 만두 (mandu) (Korean dumplings).  This was my first time making Korean food from almost scratch so it was really exciting.  You can see the pics below.  I also took a video of me making them and I will try to post the link on here. I will be leaving for Busan today, a city on the southernmost coast of Korea, and I will blog about that soon!

My co-teacher preparing the ingredients

 

My First Mandu 🙂

We made over 100 mandu!

 

3 responses

  1. Happy Chinese New Year 2011 ! year of the Rabbit !
    Have a great weekend and keep in touch ,
    you are very lucky to have friends with warm culture so far away to share your new adventure with,
    Love Mom

  2. Happy Chinese New Year to you and all your friends.
    Nice to see the guys pitching in to do some of the food preparations.
    It looks like you all enjoyed getting ready for the New Year 2011

  3. Happy Chinese New Year to you and your friends also. Those pics you shared were very nice. I look forward to your next blog. Have fun on the coast.

    Aunt Diane

Leave a Reply

