Walking in a Winter Wonderland

Outside my Apartment

Today, Friday, December 17th, marks my 4th month anniversary of living in Korea.  To celebrate I had my first snowy walk to school this morning (Dad, thanks for sending me my NorthFace boots <3) .  It wasn’t very much, probably about a 1/4 of an inch, but it was enough to make a nice wintry landscape.  The weather has been quite cold here, but nothing out of the ordinary for a New Englander like me.

Walking to School

Next week is the last week of the semester.  The school year ends next Wednesday and I have next Thursday and Friday off.  Then back to school on Monday for the start of “winter camps” which translates to more school for students.  Basically their school year runs from March to December with a long winter vacation where most students go to school for half the day and a short summer vacation where they also attend school.  Year round school definitely makes sense and is a major reason why there is such a gap between Korean and American education.  This is the first year I won’t have the week between xmas and new year’s off so it feels a little weird but I will have a week in January and most of February off so it all evens out in the end.  The kids are definitely ready to finish the year off and I have been doing a lot of Christmas lessons.  It’s nice to be in a public school where holidays can be integrated into lessons.  We have been having a lot of fun learning Christmas words, singing carols, and watching the American classic Christmas tales.  The winter apparel here is really fun.  The kids have the cutest hats. I was thinking about rocking this look.  What do you think?

6th grader

3 responses

  1. cute hat and Jenny I could see you wearing that.
    nice to hear from you. take care, I finally finished sewing all my gifts
    and knitting hats and scarfs. Soon a Feb comes I will start again for
    next year. With 9 grand and 10 great grands, there is a lot to be done.
    But they appreciate it, so it makes me feel good about doing it all.
    take care stay happy.

Leave a Reply

