Here Comes the Sun

I never thought I would say this, but last night I had my first dance performance in Seoul.  A little less than a month ago the school asked me if I would perform a dance routine in their school’s performance.  At first I politely said no because I wasn’t sure what I would come up with in less than a month and I wasn’t sure if I was comfortable performing in front of the school.  A little reluctantly, I agreed and then began to wonder what I got myself into.  I decided to play it safe and go with a ballet piece.  I chose the song “Here Comes the Sun” by the Beatles because it is easy to choreograph to and I figured some of the teachers may be familiar with it.  Then I was told that I would be dancing at the district’s auditorium and that all of the students, parents, and teachers would be in the audience.  Then I really started to wonder what I got myself into.  This wasn’t all.  About a week before the show the videotaped an interview of me and informed me that it would be playing on a big projector before  I would perform my dance.  Now I started to feel a little nervous.

In the end the show went great.  Every student took a part in the performance.  Students sang, danced, and played many instruments, including my favorite, the traditional Korean drums.  My school is very famous in Seoul for playing the Korean drums so it is really a treat to see.  I danced as well as I could have without having much rehearsal time or space.  The teachers and students were surprised to see me dance so it was interesting to see their reactions.  The whole was a 3 hour production and it showcased how hard the students have been working on their pieces.  It was nice to see the students of all ages and genders dancing and singing together.  The show proved how hard-working, disciplined, and talented these students really are.  I was happy to be a part of it too.  Pictures and video coming soon!

6th grade girls waiting to perform

Student Artwork

3 responses

  1. You had to be good, it sounded very frietening, but you sure do overcome
    things very quickly. Your letters are amazing. Put my Christmas tree up today. Will you be putting one up in your appartment? Keep these nice
    letters coming. Always so nice to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

