Back to normal….almost

I never thought I would be so happy to go back to work.  After a week of being stranded in my apartment all alone I was so happy to get to school this morning and see my students and fellow teachers.  I’ve learned that it is not fun being sick in a foreign country, but I am so thankful to how supportive my school has been to me.  I went to the hospital for what I thought would be my last visit yesterday, but they put me on more medication and I have to go back one more time (fingers crossed) next week.  I’m definitely feeling 100% better but I’m still not back to feel myself again.  Many of my students were excited to have me back and it was great to hear them practice some of their English expressions: “Are you okay?” “How are you feeling?” The unit I’m teaching my 6th graders now is all about different types of sicknesses so it was perfect timing. I am so lucky to have such caring co-workers.  They have taken time out of their busy schedules to bring me groceries, take me to the hospital, wait with me, and bring me to the pharmacy.  I seriously do not think I could have a better situation.  Good news is I think I have mastered the hospital routine here so if I ever get sick again I know the drill.  For now I am ready to get back in the swing of things and enjoy the last bit of the beautiful fall season before winter hits hard.

It’s hard to believe it’s already November.  When I asked my students what season it was today, many of them replied, “winter!” Even though it’s still fall it is starting to feel like winter.  The sun has been shining but the temperature has been dropping.  Why did I move somewhere just as cold as CT?  Next time I need to pick a place with a warmer climate. Time to do some serious winter clothes shopping.

2 responses

  1. Good Morning Jenny

    Nice to hear that you are on the mend. Is winter out there all rain?
    Or do they also have snow? Take care of yourself, I guess you know that you have chosen very nice people for friends. That they were there to help you through everything, and especially when you needed them the most.
    Stay out of the rain for awhile, you probably will still be tired. Break out the good old chicken soup, it cures all. Enjoy your letters so much.

  2. Hi Jen, so glad you are mended – what a bummer you were sick but glad it is over. Get some extra rest the next few weeks and take it easy. Thoughts of you are in CT all the time – thank you for all of your efforts in keeping us updated on your life there. Thinking of you a lot … take care, and stay well. What do you need for winter?

    Aunt Diane

Leave a Reply

