I Can Read!

Tomorrow will be my official two month marker of being in Korea.  After two months I can confidently claim that I can read Hangul (Korean characters).  Every week I spend a few hours with one of my co-teachers.  I am so thankful to her for spending the time to teach me how to read and write.  She has truly done wonders with me.  Two months ago Korean writing looked like nothing but pictures to me.  Now I know that each character has a sound.  There are only 41 and unlike English, each one only has one sound, so after writing each character and syllable combination hundreds of times in my Kindergarten style Korean notebook, I can read and write! I am still very slow because I have to process it all, but everyday it gets easier.  The next challenge is knowing what all the words mean.  I have made a stack of flashcards with hangul on one side and the English word on the other.  So far I have learned my numbers, colors, months, and other random words out of a Korean kindergarten book such as apple, butterfly, cat, rock, milk, mom, etc. I am at the Kindergarten level of Korean and my homework for today is to write my address in Hangul and say the days of the week! I am a little nervous about the address part, as it is quite long.  So I need to get to work! I’m meeting up with the faculty for some lunch and a hike today and I need to be able to write my address by then.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

One response

  1. You are amazing, keep up the good work. Two months, wow!
    Unbelievable how time has a way of just flying by. Take care.
    Love to receive your letters, thanks

Leave a Reply

