Happy Chuseok!

For all you teachers out there, just imagine exactly what your students are like right before Thanksgiving or Christmas break.  That is exactly how Korean students are before Chuseok, the Korean equivalent to Thanksgiving.  Fortunately I had only one day of teaching this week and now I have the rest of the week to do some sightseeing and shopping.

Monday was finally the day I received my first paycheck.  I am officially a millionaire! (in Won that is).  Don’t get too excited…..but it is nice to see seven digits in my bank account.  So what was the first thing I spent money on? Dance class of course! First stop after school on Monday was straight to PAS dance studio to take a hip hop class and I got a punch card that’s good for the next month.  I finally feel like I am getting back into some sort of work-out routine.  So far I have been sore after every dance class.  The only cure for soreness is to keep going and not take a rest between.  So Sunday I took modern and ballet and Monday night was hip-hop.  I am starting to make friends with everyone at the studio. Even though I am the only foreigner, everyone is really friendly and surprisingly they speak more English than I expected.  I love the aches and pains that I feel after class! It’s so refreshing.  It’s like a wake-up call to my abs and legs.  Now that I have money and dance class, I can now live!

Leave a Reply

